24 September, 2016

REVIEW: UNITE ME by Tahereh Mafi

Title: Unite Me
Author: Tahereh Mafi
Series: Shatter Me #1.5, #2.5
Genres: YA, Science Fiction, Paranormal
Publisher: HarperTeen
Source: Physical book
Pages: 197

// Add to GoodReads // BookDepository // Amazon //

Perfect for fans of Tahereh Mafi’s New York Times bestselling Shatter Me trilogy, this book collects her two companion novellas, Fracture Me and Destroy Me, in print for the first time ever. It also features an exclusive look into Juliette’s journal and a preview of Ignite Me, the hotly anticipated final novel of the series.

Destroy Me tells the events between Shatter Me and Unravel Me from Warner’s point of view. Even though Juliette shot him in order to escape, Warner can’t stop thinking about her—and he’ll do anything to get her back. But when the Supreme Commander of The Reestablishment arrives, he has much different plans for Juliette. Plans Warner cannot allow.

Fracture Me is told from Adam’s perspective and bridges the gap between Unravel Me and Ignite Me. As the Omega Point rebels prepare to fight the Sector 45 soldiers, Adam's more focused on the safety of Juliette, Kenji, and his brother. The Reestablishment will do anything to crush the resistance . . . including killing everyone Adam cares about.

The Shatter Me series is perfect for fans who crave action-packed young adult novels with tantalizing romance like Divergent and The Hunger Games. This captivating story, which combines the best of dystopian and paranormal, was praised as “a thrilling, high-stakes saga of self-discovery and forbidden love” by Ransom Riggs, bestselling author of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children.

Oh Warner Warner Warner my love....

THE WORLD: The world ruled by The Reestablishment. The world that went to hell and never recovered. The world that is corrupted as hell and people are back to being slaves. The world where some humans have extraordinary powers. The world of X-men? Well not exactly but close. Basically the world of Juliette and Warner. And Adam. Yeah, because he just cannot damn die for once.

CHARACTERS: So this book is actually two novellas and a diary of Juliette. Later is just a collection of all little part of her diary we got to read in all three books. Now novellas...so Destroy Me is obviously about Warner and it is the time after the first book I think, basically when he finds her diary but before the third book happens. And the second novella is about Adam obviously, I expected to hate it because hello I hate Adam but yeah...actually it made a lot of sense. Adam is the jerk period. So yeaaaaah.....Warner. Oh boy oh boy how much I love him, getting to read from his POV, getting to know his thoughts....oh my.....*shivers*. I will never have enough of this man. Needless to say he is my most beloved male character of all times. Now Adam...have I already told you I hate him? Yeah? Well so I do hate him like hate hate. Jup, Adam should die. But let's talk about his novella. Basically it is after Juliette is taken and Adam goes with the group to the house. Where he completely forgets Juliette. You tell me he loved her and he had just different priorities? To hell with that, you do not just have different priorities when somebody you are ready to give your life for is taken away and probably is tortured or even killed. Ya just don't. So yeah, Adam just once again proved what a jerk he is. He doesn't care about Juliette. He is just pissed that she doesn't hate Warner like he does. Sick man, just sick. And then to make Juliette feel guilty about it....yeah *** you Adam.

LOVE:  There is no active Juliette so obviously there is no active love. Tho Destroy Me is very very passionate. You can see how things started...oh my....

PLUS: These little details of Warner...his thoughts and sorta an open door for us to understand why he does what he does. This happened before book three where it all got black on white so it is just amazing to read more about him. I fish Tahereh Mafi would write more to this series.

MINUS:  I didn't really get the purpose of Juliette diary. I mean without context it is weird, her entries make no sense. Plus it is complete repeat. Weird.

OVERALL: Needless to say I loved loved loved it! My first novellas to own and buy and so so worth it. Luw Warner to death!


What did you think of UNITE ME?