30 September, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine. Today we are waiting for Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys!

Publication date: 2nd February, 2016
Publisher: Penguin

In 1945, World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia, and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, almost all of them with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer toward safety.

Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people aboard must fight for the same thing: survival.
Told in alternating points of view, and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson's critically acclaimed #1 New York Times bestseller Dead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff--the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity can prevail, even in the darkest of hours.

The Between Shades of Gray was my pick for the bookclub last year and I really loved that book. So when I saw on Netgalley that the new book called Salt to the Sea is going to be published by Pengui I was more than happy, only sad part is that we have to wait all the way to February to get our hands on this book! I am hoping I might get a pre-read on Netgalley when it is available, please please fingers crossed!

Are you excited about Salt to the Sea?